“All the Things That I’ve Done” this past weekend

Dyeing, spinning, knitting, and watching the TeeVee…

Before and after dye tests:

acrylic dye test

acrylic dye test

variegated acrylic loop

variegated acrylic loop

unidentified loop yarn

unidentified loop yarn

dyed wool

dyed wool

In a quick, excited dyeing job, I put way too much blue dye into a bowl with a shot of violet dye, synthrapol and citric acid, and submerged some yarn samples (I even threw in some eyelash yarn – not shown). I let it sit for a while.

I squeezed it out and put it on a plate and let it dry for a few days until I had time to continue. A few days later, I microwaved it a few times to try to set the color. There was so much blue dye (and so much acrylic, I’m thinking), that it kept rinsing blue 3 times in a row. I soaked it in some vingear water to set it. I was too lazy to microwave it again. There was some rub off, but I am pleased with how the loop yarns looked. I wasn’t expecting purple, but I’m happy with it.

I spun the purple wool into what I spun for the Yarn Everyday challenge on Sunday night/Monday morning:

purple dyed next to kool aid dyed

purple dyed next to kool aid dyed

I am eventually going to ply these two with another solid-colored kool aid dye, hopefully in the next couple of days. Here’s a pic of where it’s at right now:

purple covered in kool aid

purple covered in kool aid

Here is a shot of koolaid dyed next to the Juliespins roving I bought. The JS lavender had shots of turquoise added as well, but it looks good with the koolaid. That said, though, I don’t think I will spin them together. I have nowhere near enough koolaid yarn to go with it. I’m a little worried about fading, as well.

koolaid and juliespins

koolaid and juliespins

The predominant purple of the juliespins and the turquoise portion:

predominately purple

predominantly purple

turquoise julie

turquoise julie

There’s some black spots mixed into it as well. I love it, but who knows how it will end? Either I will ply it with solid black or leave it as is and knit it into a shawl.

KNITTING
On the actual knitting front, I put a couple of inches of a dent into a soldier sock. I have been slacking on it a little because I don’t think I have quite enough yarn to make a pair. I’m also a little scared that the ankle is going to be too tight. I sent emails asking for another ball of yarn, but the first pair has to be completed before I can get more yarn. Catch 22 for me.

So now my options are:

  • Bite the bullet, put on the big girl panties, and say the words, “I think I was accidentally shorted a ball of yarn. Send me another one or Sock Leg #3 gets it.”
  • Unravel one of the remaining three sock legs and use it to finish the first pair, so I can order some more. Quitting entirely and sending the sock legs back is not an option. I will not quit.

Ordering the yarn elsewhere is not an option. Even online stores that say they have the yarn in stock don’t have it.

I made another dent in the Concertina lace socks I’m making for a friend of mine. Finished the 1 1/2-inch ribbing I knit for the second time because I lost my place in the pattern. Will I ever beat the laziness and learn consistency when it comes to knitting from a pattern? I tell you one thing, I was smart enough to put a lifeline in immediately after the ribbing so I never have to do it again! lol. I think I will do the same as I finish each repeat on the socks.

“ALL THE THINGS THAT I’VE DONE”

From a song by The Killers. I love their music. New faves!

Leave a Reply

