Enjoying my craft

I have been working on the Luiza shawl.

At first I resented the fleur de lis looking things, because I wanted to just do the edging so bad, but now, I am loving them. The only problem is, no way am I going to get a good pic of the lace without taking the needle out, and that is so not happening right now. Maybe I will get my friends to loan me some interchangeable cords (I moved; god only knows where my others are, if I even have more than one), so I can look at it in all its glory (lol) without dropping a stitch.

I think the coolest thing about the fleur/trident things is how they work out to a little diamond pane if you do it right.

If you do it wrong, they get a little out of line from the rest and it’s so obvious to you when you start doing it wrong.

And when I figure out where I got it wrong and start frogging back, I get a little attitude. lol. Especially when I’m on the second half of the right side and the last time it was right was 2 repeats in from the beginning of the first half. No teacher like experience, dude.

I have tentatively begun knitting the Maluka shawl as a thank you gift from someone else. The pattern is chosen, the beads are strung, and I am 2 rows of the edging in.

I still haven’t figured out where the beads will go. I know where I want them to go, but I’m not familiar enough with the pattern right now to figure out how to make them go there. Maybe I can corner somebody on knit night and make them help me.

I have become something of a knit night addict. Several years of meeting with my own group has made me loathe missing them, even for a good reason. Creature of habit for sure.

Leave a Reply

