Working on a felted table mat for Stash Dash 2012

I have been going through Knitgirllls podcasts to see what the ones I found the funniest were. They are getting ready to do a “Knitgirllls greatest hits” type thing and asked group members for their favorites.

While I was watching, I started knitting on the felted table mat on my Stash Down list, using 2 strands of Knit Picks Wool of the Andes yarn. I traded yarns with two friends of mine for 11 skeins or so, because I don’t have any yarn specifically for felting in my stash.

It is going fairly quick, as I’m knitting the mat double stranded on US 10.5 needles. I love how it feels right now.  Maybe I will just leave it at this size for a while, and then felt it down for a different texture when I get tired of it.

I’d planned to make two pockets that I could hang stuff in (remotes, pens, etc.) to cut down on clutter on the night stand. Kristen said something about how shrinkage works in felting; I’m going to have to ask her to say that again so I screw this up less.

I was thinking about making it in pieces, but I think instead I will make one long piece, edge the short ends in black, and then fold the short sides up to make pockets. That sounds much easier than the original idea. If it works out like I think, I might be able to use up 75 percent of the Wool of the Andes stash. That would give me more room to store some yarns that are in the giant plastic totes still. They make cute storage, but I want to get to a point where I am using them as totes for current projects.

Henry VIII swatch, possible Gail shawl start

I am feeling the urge to start the Gail shawl today in the same cobalt blue Palette yarn as the Luiza shawl, since I still have 9 skeins of it left. It should make a pretty good sized Gail.

I was going to do it Friday at knit night, but I tried working on the Henry VIII swatch again instead. I had to frog the swatch and start over, got disgusted trying to figure out how to lock the strands in on the back side, and eventually gave it up after about 3 hours.

Yesterday I picked it up again, and made it through the second row before breaking off to highlight the chart. I didn’t pick it back up again, but I will sometime this week. I plan to look at a blog I use for fair isle reference to learn another way to hold the strands.

Spinning

I took some more pics of the burgundy Silver Suns fiber I spun. I think I am just going to leave it as it is for a while. It’s not exactly where I want it to be, but I don’t feel like messing with it today.

When I went to the spinning group meeting last weekend, I was showing some of the fiber that had felted to two of the ladies there. I went to spin with it and it was compacted and hard to separate. They said it’s because I have been storing it in plastic bags, which makes the fiber sweat and felt, even if it doesn’t get warm. They suggested I start keeping them in pillowcases to stop that from happening.

I only have a few extra pillowcases, but I think I will take an extra sheet set I have never used and make me some. That way I could practice my sewing too.

I do hate losing the visibility of plastic though. I’m sure I’ll get used to it after a while.

Leave a Reply

