Hoping for the best, expecting the worst

Somehow, I forgot that when I was going to block the second Gail shawl, it had a bleeding problem. So, I was ready to do it again, I put it in some soapy water to soak and when I came back a few minutes later, the water was heavily pink.

It was looking a little scary. I actually lost a few cool points over that. So I dumped the shawl, soapy water and all, into the crockpot I use for dying and poured maybe a quarter cup of vinegar. (It would have been a tablespoon, but like I said, I was losing cool points at the time, and the vinegar jug was almost empty. What’s the point in leaving two drops in there? Don’t judge me. )

Whatever vinegar was left in there, it’s in the pot. It’s cooking now on medium (whatever temperature that is – not using a thermometer there either), and hopefully the shawl will soak all the dye back up and it will MOVE IN AND TAKE UP LIVING THERE, LIKE IT WAS SUPPOSED TO DO IN THE FIRST PLACE. DAMN.

I suspect it’s the other yarn, not the OMG Wollmeise edging. I don’t think Claudia would do that to me, because OMG it’s Wollmeise. (I love the production that Lime and Violet made of out of the word Wollmeise when they had their podcast.)

Here’s a picture of the edging.

I hope whatever happens, the shawl doesn’t go all faded pink on me. If nothing else, I can say it will be clean as hell, because they used to boil clothes in lye soap and water in the old days  to clean them. My mom had to do that more than a few times when she was growing up. I am so glad I was born when I was, because having to do all that farm work, slaughtering your own animals and stuff like beating rugs by hand, would suck.

On the other hand…

I am starting to be able to visualize the end of some old UFOs. If this shawl goes okay and I only have to cook it once, I will work on putting the nails in some coffins on the project that shall not be named. Then I will block The Bleeder and package it up. I’m going to see if I can find a pin for it and give it to my aunt for Christmas. Goodbye, good luck and good riddance.

And then, and then, I have changed my mind again. I’m going to knit as much Harlequin shawl in purple as I can. It’s the gift shawl on my UFO list, and this way I don’t have to try to follow another pattern, and since the giftee’s all petite and shit, I won’t have to knit it for long. I am kind of worried about it being chunky yarn though and it being too chunky looking on her. What the hell. I don’t have to wear it. lol.

Or maybe I’ll just follow in the instructions for the Holden shawl, which has no patterning whatsoever, and put an edging on it from somewhere. Maybe the blue Barbara Walker book. That would make it way faster.

I’m getting a little excited for all the other stuff I can work on.

1. scarf for my cousin.

2. shawl for me.

3. Necklette for me out of my handspun yarn, made with fiber Cheryl gave me for my birthday.

4. Socks for me.

5. Sock  correction, SOCKS, for a friend of mine. Since she has two feet. (and I wasn’t going to proofread this because I’m perfect and I don’t make mistakes. HA!!!)

6. another shawl for me.

7. back to the East meets West colorwork bag. I hate I fell down on that one. I was going along pretty good for a few weeks on it.

And what really got me all hyped up before The Bleeder pissed me off, I was going through my yarn stash and noticed how some colors match up. I was all, “Ooh, I’m gonna take pictures and put them on the blog post!” But I couldn’t find my camera, which I had just seen yesterday. It was right here, I swear!

That’s what I get for not listening to my mom. “If you would put stuff up where it belongs, you would know where it is.” She said that a lot when I was coming up. I wonder why.

I made this dot com

and these

(never again, they were a PITA – damn, there is a lot of cursing on this blog today – took too long to make, and I feel not worth the few hours I put into them) They have also committed the crime (my fault, not theirs) of being not very good looking. But yayy for using remnants!

And the Harlequin Opal shawl as a yarn trade, which is freaking gorgeous. Even if it’s about 65 percent bigger than it should be, from the instructions. If she doesn’t want it, I’ll take it back. lol. I wouldn’t mind at all! I’d even send her one of the two skeins of Mad Tosh yarn I had ordered. Or something else from stash. She’s probably going to like it though. I hope so. Trades make me anxious until I know for sure the other person LOVED, and I mean L-O-V-E-D it. The same with Christmas presents. Even if all I give you is a starlight mint and a piece of lint, I hope it’s the most bodacious starlight mint and piece of lint you ever had in your whole life. At least until next year.

Trust me, I love this pattern so much this picture should be three times as big as the actual blog page. I’m going to do it again.

so now, hoping for the best, I’m going to go back downstairs and check the shawl and hope it’s sucking up some color. And maybe open a window, since I’m not actually making pickles, but it probably smells that way. My roommate will thank me, I’m sure. Especially since she’s the person who does the sniff test to see that I’ve rinsed all the vinegar smell out when I need her to. Good thing we’re friends.

Leave a Reply

