Bleeding stopped…eventually

I washed the bleeder about 8-10 different times, and I think it finally stopped when I put it in some cool water with a lot of Synthrapol. I let it sit a while to see how much bleeding it was still doing (about the same), then I put it back in a crockpot on low for a few hours. I let that sit overnight, then rinsed and soaked it. Less dye came out, so I put it through a rinse and spin cycle in the washing machine to get most of the water out.

Because I got really impatient that one time and cranked it up to high, the lightest-colored parts of the shawl felted. The Wollmeise lace must be superwash, because it looks almost exactly the same.

Before:

After:

Felting was mostly vertical, and there are one or two faded spots. After all the issues I have had, I don’t think I will be gifting this to my aunt after all. I’m not sure what I’m going to do with it, but I have changed my mind about overdyeing it to fix the faded spots. I doubt it would take the way I would expect it to.

I am just disappointed at the end result, all the way around. That was a lot of work for it to end up this way.

Crochet work

In other news, I am trying to finish up the oldest UFO. Things are going well, just not quite as fast as I would like them to.

I still haven’t found my crochet hooks. I intend to do some major cleaning this week, so hopefully they will turn up. (I have all the small ones for fine crochet work, but not the set of lettered hooks from A to H, or however high it went.

I borrowed a D hook from my friend Melissa to do the lace edging. On some of the items it looks great. I am hoping once it is all completed none of the things that bother me about the set will be issues. Some sections don’t lie as flat as I’d like.

Other knitting

I plan to frog the Phantom of the opera cowl I made, as it’s too small in some areas.

I plan to knit:

  • my cousin’s scarf
  • one shawl for me, one for my friend’s mom
  • a pair of gloves
  • two cowls for me
  • two pairs of socks

Contests and stuff:

I set a contest on the sweater group for members who finished knitting a sweater this year. Those who have done one will have their names cut up and one person’s name will be drawn. I’ll gift the winner a Ravelry pattern up to $10.

I am participating in the Christmas pattern swap for another group I’m in. It has a $15 limit.

I am also participating in The Cold Sheep group Finish-along for projects started before Nov. 10. It ends Nov. 30 or so. I’m hoping it will help me make a giant dent in UFOs. I’m not sure which other UFO’s I’ll be working on.

Leave a Reply

