I want to make myself another knitting plan…

Here’s a copy of the post that didn’t work…it had picture issues.

*******

…one that I can actually stick to.

I need to figure out how to turn my yarn buying obsession into one that focuses on actually using the yarns I buy or that are already in my stash.

I’m going to try not to add anything else to the stash through December, and maybe even January. Trades only.

In the meantime, I need to figure out what to do with this RAK’ed skein of Wollmeise. (colorway “Guide to the Galaxy.”

It originally looked like this:

Now, it looks like this:

I originally planned to make a Tumbling Deco Shawl by Holly Chayes.

I still might do that, but one weekend when I’m not so busy I’m going to have to sit down and figure out the chart.

THIS IS WHERE I DIGRESS….FEEL FREE TO IGNORE THIS SECTION AND SKIP TO THE PART BELOW

The first few times I looked at it, I started knitting the first couple of rows, which were written instructions. Then you go to the chart, and that’s where the problem came in.

I was working the pattern from a PDF because I don’t have a working printer. The first pages of the pattern are in 8 1/2 by 11 format, but the chart part is in 11 X 8 1/2 format, and it is all charted, but the chart is split in half. It’s like cutting a hanging shawl down the middle and flipping the two halves on their side. (Hard to figure out how to illustrate that without taking a photo of it on my screen … … … Duh. Maybe I should try that. lol

I THINK THIS IS WHERE THE LITTLE PICTURE PROBLEM CAME IN. Trying it again…

The part on the far right is row 1 (in vertical position), but then there’s a center row (the bold horizontal line on both pages. I could use one page and mirror it, but I am not at a point mentally where I can handle knitting across the two charts like I did with the Gail shawl, so I had to table that knitting.

I might pull it into Photoshop and put the two halves together and print that, but I’d have to do that at work. (I had to use the Paint program just to get this far, and using it to manipulate images just really doesn’t work for me..

Looking at that graphic just now and thinking about how excited I was to get going on it this summer brings me down. I had started the Rav project page, filled in the details (started July 8), and got started.

The pattern’s still on my to do list, but just not today.

THIS IS WHERE I GET BACK TO WHAT I WAS ACTUALLY GOING TO SAY…

Where the problem with the Wollmeise may come in is that it seems highly variegated, so I’m going to start a plain swatch to get an idea of what it looks like knit up, and put some ideas I got today down on paper.

I know I want to make a shawl, but do I want to skim through the patterns I already have, or do I want to wing it? Today, this morning, it feels like winging it is possible.

 WHAT ELSE I’M WORKING ON

I am also going to try to finish this Gracious Cowl before the weekend this coming week is out. It’s fair isle, so it’s taking me weeks longer than I expected. (Didn’t happen, still working on it. About 1/4 of the pattern to go as of Oct. 25.) It was created by Stana Sortor.

I may make a second one in my birthday yarn, which is one fuchsia skein and one purple skein of Cascade Heritage Silk.

Leave a Reply

