Trying to get it all together for next year

I feel like I don’t have a handle on my knitting anymore.

I used to be able to say with some certainty, “I know for sure I’ll be working on this project sometime this year,” and be able to add in a few more small or short term projects on top of those.

These days, I don’t seem to have a plan.

For a while there I was ready to give up knitting completely. I didn’t love it when I started and I get aggravated when a project doesn’t go like I thought it would. The main things it’s given me are awesome friends and (not so awesome) I-want-itis and yarn addiction.

Now, I like it, but I have things that are on hold because I don’t want to frog and fix what’s wrong with them. Or I love the finished project, but I don’t want to actually do the knitting involved. Or the project’s big, and I’m knitting it, but there’s no way I’m going to finish it in the next year without giving it some serious attention.

I may need to take a real time out…no knitting until say, March. Then list it all, the good, the bad, and the ugly; put it all away and revisit it a few months from now. Form a plan then when I have a little distance. And do the same with the spinning. I have two braids coming in January, and I think that’s going to be the end of my spinning stash for a pretty good while.

Leave a Reply

