Sock knitting revisited

POST FROM OCTOBER

2015:

The whole reason I started knitting for myself was because I wanted the finished project, not because I liked knitting. I knew going in that there weren’t going to be a whole lot of things I would make myself because they took longer than three days (my threshold for making crochet projects).

I have accepted that things I want to make aren’t necessarily going to be warm (shawls). I have accepted that the majority of the sweaters I fell in love with on Ravelry will have to be admired from afar, because I prefer faster knits where great fit is not required. And that I may only have two handknit sweaters in me over my lifetime.

One idea that took a lot longer to die, though, is that all socks, regardless of yarn weight or foot size, should be knit on size 3 needles or larger. (My knitting friends have been laughing their heads off for quite a few years about that one.)

I made myself some socks on 2’s and 3’s, and while they met my “good enough’ standards, I want the ones I make from now on to fit me well and last longer. So I sucked up the unfairness of it all and asked my friend Melissa to show me how she knits socks.

She pays attention to her knitting, pattern instructions, and things like details. She knits socks that fit, and her sock fabrics tend to be closer knit than mine, because hello, she uses size 0 needles or whatever’s called for, versus, say, size 3s.

After she stopped laughing, she showed me how she starts the toe ups and looked at the toes I had started already. The ones on size 1s or 2s were too loose (dammit. I’m a loose knitter, apparently.) So I started another pair on size 00s. She thought the fabric on those came out much better.

Since that afternoon, I did my usual 2 or 3 restarts, and I have about an inch and a half of dense sock toes to my credit. I’m up to 60 stitches and hope that will be enough for my narrow feet without being too many.

I don’t usually mind the 00s knitting, but every now and then I’ll have my “irritated knitting” fit and have to put them down for a while.

I’m not sure where the irritation comes in. Maybe it’s how I feel like I’m knitting a section more tightly than the others and it drags across the needle in a weird way. Or worry that I have too many or not enough stitches, and I won’t know for sure until I have enough foot to try them on.

Anyway, here’s what they look like right now.

25336214566_59efbb2111_n

So far, so good. I think it’s a good use of the JL Vinca yarn. I tried knitting this yarn as a couple of other projects, but they didn’t feel like a good fit for the yarn, so I frogged them all and put it back in the stash.

Leave a Reply

